The Society for Barefoot Living & my transition to a barefoot lifestyle

image

As a Podiatrist & foot orthotic designer investigating the concept of natural gait in walking and running and being intrigued at the prospect of living a barefoot lifestyle I am really grateful for the support of the SBL membership!

http://www.barefooters.org/

Thank you for being such an inspiring, knowledgeable and helpful group of barefooters.

I only started to consider barefooting in March 2009 after initially reading ‘Born to Run’. After 4 months of gradual transition to a complete barefoot lifestyle using minimalist footwear, I am now barefoot 24/7.

During my transition I used Vivo Barefoot Aqua shoes, Vibram FiveFingers & Huarache sandals as my body gradually adapted to a different gait & posture, having worn customised foot orthotics for over 20 years and supportive footwear all 45 years of my life.

I went for several short barefoot walks on the local cliff paths every week, starting with a painful five minutes of barefoot walking on my first attempt, building up to full time barefoot walking in just four months.

The SBL was vital to building my confidence during those tentative first few barefoot hikes.

Richard Frazine’s wonderfully inspiring book ‘The Barefoot Hiker’ captured the romance of connecting to nature through barefoot hiking & further motivated me to help others enjoy the joy of barefoot hiking. This summer I organised the first public barefoot hike in our area, which was a great success.

I did a lot of reading on natural gait as I studied various medical research papers.

Then followed Daniel Howell’s amazing book (The Barefoot Book) which further consolidated my thoughts.

I’m now a massive barefoot (natural gait) convert & advocate a barefoot lifestyle, or as near as practical, to my patients.

I also lecture nationally (in the UK) & regionally on the benefits of natural gait to other medical professionals.

Since my conversion I’ve been invited by Michael Buttgen to serve on the advisory board of the Primalfoot Alliance with Daniel Howell & other keen barefooters, which I enjoy.

http://www.primalfootalliance.org/

Please keep inspiring other novice barefooters.

Many thanks,

Steve Bloor
Barefoot Podiatrist UK

Conflicting modification on November 20, 2011:

As a Podiatrist & foot orthotic designer investigating the concept of natural gait in walking and running and being intrigued at the prospect of living a barefoot lifestyle I am really grateful for the support of the SBL membership!

Thank you for being such an inspiring, knowledgeable and helpful group of barefooters.

I only started to consider barefooting in March 2009 after initially reading ‘Born to Run’. After 4 months of gradual transition to a complete barefoot lifestyle using minimalist footwear, I am now barefoot 24/7.

During my transition I used Vivo Barefoot Aqua shoes, Vibram FiveFingers & Huarache sandals as my body gradually adapted to a different gait & posture, having worn customised foot orthotics for over 20 years and supportive footwear all 45 years of my life.

I went for several short barefoot walks on the local cliff paths every week, starting with a painful five minutes of barefoot walking on my first attempt, building up to full time barefoot walking in just four months.

The SBL was vital to building my confidence during those tentative first few barefoot hikes.

Richard Frazine’s wonderfully inspiring book ‘The Barefoot Hiker’ captured the romance of connecting to nature through barefoot hiking & further motivated me to help others enjoy the joy of barefoot hiking. This summer I organised the first public barefoot hike in our area, which was a great success.

I did a lot of reading on natural gait as I studied various medical research papers.

Then followed Daniel Howell’s amazing book (The Barefoot Book) which further consolidated my thoughts.

I’m now a massive barefoot (natural gait) convert & advocate a barefoot lifestyle, or as near as practical, to my patients.

I also lecture nationally (in the UK) & regionally on the benefits of natural gait to other medical professionals.

Since my conversion I’ve been invited by Michael Buttgen to serve on the advisory board of the Primalfoot Alliance with Daniel Howell & other keen barefooters, which I enjoy.

http://www.primalfootalliance.org/

Please keep inspiring other novice barefooters.

Many thanks,

Steve Bloor
Barefoot Podiatrist UK

Leave a Reply

